Hidden Gems Shine at Award Ceremony

15th April 2014

We held our 2nd Annual Hidden Gem awards ceremony on Friday 11th April at the Mallinson Suite, in Waltham Forest College. The event recognises staff members who work behind the scenes that have gone ‘above and beyond the call of duty.’

This year’s ceremony was compered by Richard Finch, Senior Chaplain & Faith Support Manager at YMCA East London and attended by staff, trustees and special guests who, alongside managers, presented winners with their ‘Hidden Gem’ award and gave congratulatory speeches. 

Guests included Tony Battle – Managing Director of Kind & Co Ltd, Prof Iram Siraj – Professor of Education at the Institute of Education, Cllr Saima Mahmud – Hoe Street Councillor and Mathew Glentworth – Director of Structured Finance at National Westminster Bank.          

In his opening speech, YMCA East London Chief Executive, Timothy Pain commended the Hidden Gem Award winners for their commitment to the organisation and the contributions they had made. He also recognised the hard work and dedication of all staff across YMCA East London.

“Our Hidden Gems have made a difference through their hard work, creative thinking, kindness or willingness to go the extra mile. They all deserve to be recognised and celebrated for their contribution to the organisation, and for the impact their commitment and drive has had on their colleagues, our services users and the vulnerable young homeless people that we work with – we are very proud of them.”

Award categories and winners were:

Unsung Hero – Nicola Bowden, PACE Facilitator and Sam Fenn, Quality Assurance and Compliance Coordinator (nominated by Staff)
Residents’ Choice – Sirinder Knightsbridge, Supported Housing Officer (nominated by residents)

Children’s Choice – Angelo Christou, Play Worker (nominated by parents/children of FYMCA After School Clubs)

Community Choice – Mary Henson, Chef (nominated by members and service users)

Image: Hidden Gem award winners, from left to right – Mary Henson, Sirinder Knightsbridge, Nicola Bowden, Angelo Christou and Sam Fenn.